All time MLB Championship winners and losers list 1903 to 2023

Winner record list: View all time highest MLB winners list
The World Series, which is the championship series of Major League Baseball (MLB), has been played almost every year since its inception in 1903. However, there have been a few occasions when the World Series was canceled or not held as scheduled. Here are the years when the World Series was canceled and the reasons behind those cancellations:

1904: The World Series was canceled in 1904. The reason for the cancellation was a dispute between the champions of the American League, the Boston Americans (now known as the Red Sox), and the champions of the National League, the New York Giants. The Giants' owner, John T. Brush, did not consider the Americans to be a legitimate team, and the series was never officially scheduled or played.

1994: The World Series was canceled in 1994 due to a player strike. The strike began on August 12, 1994, and resulted in the cancellation of the remainder of the regular season, as well as the postseason, including the World Series. It was the first time in 90 years that the World Series was not played. The strike lasted into 1995, but the season resumed in late April 1995, and the World Series returned the following year.
Year Winner Loser
2023Texas RangersArizona Diamondbacks
2022Houston AstrosPhiladelphia Phillies
2021Atlanta BravesHouston Astros
2020Los Angeles DodgersTampa Bay Rays
2019Washington NationalsHouston Astros
2018Boston Red SoxLos Angeles Dodgers
2017Houston AstrosLos Angeles Dodgers
2016Chicago CubsCleveland Indians
2015Kansas City RoyalsNew York Mets
2014San Francisco GiantsKansas City Royals
2013Boston Red SoxSt Louis Cardinals
2012San Francisco GiantsDetroit Tigers
2011St Louis CardinalsTexas Rangers
2010San Francisco GiantsTexas Rangers
2009New York YankeesPhiladelphia Phillies
2008Philadelphia PhilliesTampa Bay Rays
2007Boston Red SoxColorado Rockies
2006St Louis CardinalsDetroit Tigers
2005Chicago White SoxHouston Astros
2004Boston Red SoxSt Louis Cardinals
2003Florida MarlinsNew York Yankees
2002Anaheim AngelsSan Francisco Giants
2001Arizona DiamondbacksNew York Yankees
2000New York YankeesNew York Mets
1999New York YankeesAtlanta Braves
1998New York YankeesSan Diego Padres
1997Florida MarlinsCleveland Indians
1996New York YankeesAtlanta Braves
1995Atlanta BravesCleveland Indians
1993Toronto Blue JaysPhiladelphia Phillies
1992Toronto Blue JaysAtlanta Braves
1991Minnesota TwinsAtlanta Braves
1990Cincinnati RedsOakland Athletics
1989Oakland AthleticsSan Francisco Giants
1988Los Angeles DodgersOakland Athletics
1987Minnesota TwinsSt Louis Cardinals
1986New York MetsBoston Red Sox
1985Kansas City RoyalsSt Louis Cardinals
1984Detroit TigersSan Diego Padres
1983Baltimore OriolesPhiladelphia Phillies
1982St Louis CardinalsMilwaukee Brewers
1981Los Angeles DodgersNew York Yankees
1980Philadelphia PhilliesKansas City Royals
1979Pittsburgh PiratesBaltimore Orioles
1978New York YankeesLos Angeles Dodgers
1977New York YankeesLos Angeles Dodgers
1976Cincinnati RedsNew York Yankees
1975Cincinnati RedsBoston Red Sox
1974Oakland AthleticsLos Angeles Dodgers
1973Oakland AthleticsNew York Mets
1972Oakland AthleticsCincinnati Reds
1971Pittsburgh PiratesBaltimore Orioles
1970Baltimore OriolesCincinnati Reds
1969New York MetsBaltimore Orioles
1968Detroit TigersSt Louis Cardinals
1967St Louis CardinalsBoston Red Sox
1966Baltimore OriolesLos Angeles Dodgers
1965Los Angeles DodgersMinnesota Twins
1964St Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees
1963Los Angeles DodgersNew York Yankees
1962New York YankeesSan Francisco Giants
1961New York YankeesCincinnati Reds
1960Pittsburgh PiratesNew York Yankees
1959Los Angeles DodgersChicago White Sox
1958New York YankeesMilwaukee Braves
1957Milwaukee BravesNew York Yankees
1956New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers
1955Brooklyn DodgersNew York Yankees
1954New York GiantsCleveland Indians
1953New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers
1952New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers
1951New York YankeesNew York Giants
1950New York YankeesPhiladelphia Phillies
1949New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers
1948Cleveland IndiansBoston Braves
1947New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers
1946St Louis CardinalsBoston Red Sox
1945Detroit TigersChicago Cubs
1944St Louis CardinalsSt Louis Browns
1943New York YankeesSt Louis Cardinals
1942St Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees
1941New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers
1940Cincinnati RedsDetroit Tigers
1939New York YankeesCincinnati Reds
1938New York YankeesChicago Cubs
1937New York YankeesNew York Giants
1936New York YankeesNew York Giants
1935Detroit TigersChicago Cubs
1934St Louis CardinalsDetroit Tigers
1933New York GiantsWashington Senators
1932New York YankeesChicago Cubs
1931St Louis CardinalsPhiladelphia Athletics
1930Philadelphia AthleticsSt Louis Cardinals
1929Philadelphia AthleticsChicago Cubs
1928New York YankeesSt Louis Cardinals
1927New York YankeesPittsburgh Pirates
1926St Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees
1925Pittsburgh PiratesWashington Senators
1924Washington SenatorsNew York Giants
1923New York YankeesNew York Giants
1922New York GiantsNew York Yankees
1921New York GiantsNew York Yankees
1920Cleveland IndiansBrooklyn Robins
1919Cincinnati RedsChicago White Sox
1918Boston Red SoxChicago Cubs
1917Chicago White SoxNew York Giants
1916Boston Red SoxBrooklyn Robins
1915Boston Red SoxPhiladelphia Phillies
1914Boston BravesPhiladelphia Athletics
1913Philadelphia AthleticsNew York Giants
1912Boston Red SoxNew York Giants
1911Philadelphia AthleticsNew York Giants
1910Philadelphia AthleticsChicago Cubs
1909Pittsburgh PiratesDetroit Tigers
1908Chicago CubsDetroit Tigers
1907Chicago CubsDetroit Tigers
1906Chicago White SoxChicago Cubs
1905New York GiantsPhiladelphia Athletics
1903Boston PilgrimsPittsburgh Pirates
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |