1920 Sports Championships

The year 1920 consisted of Sports Championship winners Cleveland Indians (MLB), Ottawa Senators (NHL)
Sport Winner Loser
MLBCleveland IndiansBrooklyn Robins
NHLOttawa SenatorsSeattle Metropolitans


The 1920 World Series featured the Cleveland Indians and the Brooklyn Robins. The Indians were making their first appearance in the Fall Classic while the Robins were making their second appearance. The series was a best-of-nine affair and the Indians won the series in eight games, becoming the first team in the American League to win the World Series. The Indians were led by their star pitcher, Stan Coveleski, who won three games in the series and allowed just two runs. The Robins were led by their star shortstop, Zack Wheat, who hit two home runs and drove in six runs. The Indians won the series with a 10-8 victory in the eighth game.
The 1920 Stanley Cup Championship series was between the Ottawa Senators and the Seattle Metropolitans. The series was a best of five, and the Senators won the first two games. The Metropolitans then won the next two, forcing a decisive fifth game. The fifth game was a close one, but the Senators won 2-1 to take the series 3-2 and the Stanley Cup. It was the first Stanley Cup championship for the Ottawa Senators and the first time a US team had reached the Stanley Cup Final.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |