1993 Sports Championships

The year 1993 consisted of Sports Championship winners Chicago Bulls (NBA), Dallas Cowboys (NFL), Montreal Canadiens (NHL), Toronto Blue Jays (MLB)
Sport Winner Loser
NBAChicago BullsPhoenix Suns
NFLDallas CowboysBuffalo Bills
NHLMontreal CanadiensLos Angeles Kings
MLBToronto Blue JaysPhiladelphia Phillies


The 1993 NBA championship final series between the Chicago Bulls and Phoenix Suns was a memorable one. The Bulls, led by Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen and head coach Phil Jackson, took the series in six games, becoming the first team in NBA history to win three consecutive championships. The Bulls' dominance was on full display as they won the first three games of the series, with Jordan averaging 41 points per game. The Suns, led by Charles Barkley, Danny Ainge and head coach Paul Westphal, put up a valiant effort, winning game four in Chicago and pushing the Bulls to the brink in game five in Phoenix. However, the Bulls would prevail in game six in Chicago, clinching their third consecutive championship.
The 1993 NFL Super Bowl was an epic battle between the Dallas Cowboys and the Buffalo Bills. The Cowboys, led by quarterback Troy Aikman, running back Emmitt Smith, and wide receiver Michael Irvin, were the heavy favorites to win the game. The Bills, however, had a formidable offense led by quarterback Jim Kelly, running back Thurman Thomas, and wide receiver Andre Reed. In the end, the Cowboys defense was too much for the Bills, and Dallas emerged victorious with a final score of 52–17. The Cowboys dominated the game from start to finish, with Smith rushing for 108 yards and two touchdowns, and Irvin hauling in two touchdown receptions. Aikman was named Super Bowl MVP for his performance, completing 22 of 30 passes for 273 yards and four touchdowns. The Cowboys' victory marked the first of three consecutive Super Bowl wins for the franchise.
The 1993 Stanley Cup Finals featured the Montreal Canadiens and the Los Angeles Kings. The Canadiens had won the President's Trophy, and the Kings had finished fourth in the Smythe Division. The series went the full seven games, with the Canadiens winning 4–1 in the decisive game. Montreal's goaltender Patrick Roy was named the MVP of the series, as he allowed only 11 goals in the seven games. The Canadiens scored 22 goals in the series, with Vincent Damphousse leading the way with five goals and 10 points. The Kings were led by Wayne Gretzky, who scored three goals and had nine points in the series. The Canadiens won the series and their 24th Stanley Cup.
The 1993 World Series featured the Toronto Blue Jays and the Philadelphia Phillies. This was the first time the Blue Jays had made it to the World Series since their inaugural season in 1977. The Blue Jays went on to win the series 4-2, becoming the first Canadian-based team to win the World Series. The series was highlighted by a dramatic, come-from-behind victory in Game 4, when the Blue Jays scored seven runs in the bottom of the ninth inning to win the game. Joe Carter's walk-off home run in the bottom of the ninth inning of Game 6 sealed the victory for the Blue Jays. The 1993 World Series was a historic moment for Canada and the Blue Jays, who would go on to win the World Series again in 1992.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |