1927 Sports Championships

The year 1927 consisted of Sports Championship winners New York Yankees (MLB), Ottawa Senators (NHL)
Sport Winner Loser
MLBNew York YankeesPittsburgh Pirates
NHLOttawa SenatorsBoston Bruins


The 1927 World Series featured the New York Yankees and the Pittsburgh Pirates. The Yankees had a star-studded lineup, including Babe Ruth and Lou Gehrig, and were heavily favored to win the series. The Pirates, however, had a strong pitching staff and were able to take the series in four straight games. The Pirates won the first two games at home, then won the next two on the road in New York. The Pirates' pitching staff was led by Vic Aldridge and Ray Kremer, who combined to shut out the Yankees in the final two games. The Pirates' victory marked the first time a team had won a World Series after trailing three games to one. It was also the first time a team had won a World Series after being shut out in two consecutive games. The Yankees would go on to win four World Series championships in the next five years, but the Pirates' victory in 1927 remains one of the most memorable upsets in baseball history.
The 1927 Stanley Cup Championship Series was between the Ottawa Senators and the Boston Bruins. The Senators, who had won the Stanley Cup the previous two seasons, were the favorites to win the series. The series went to a full five games, with the Senators taking the series in four games. The Senators were led by their star player, Frank Nighbor, who scored the series-clinching goal in the fifth and deciding game. The Bruins put up a good fight, but were ultimately unable to overcome the Senators' experience and skill. In the end, the Ottawa Senators were crowned Stanley Cup Champions for the third consecutive season.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |