1991 Sports Championships

The year 1991 consisted of Sports Championship winners Chicago Bulls (NBA), Minnesota Twins (MLB), New York Giants (NFL), Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL)
Sport Winner Loser
NBAChicago BullsLos Angeles Lakers
MLBMinnesota TwinsAtlanta Braves
NFLNew York GiantsBuffalo Bills
NHLPittsburgh PenguinsMinnesota North Stars


The 1991 NBA Championship Final Series between the Chicago Bulls and Los Angeles Lakers was a classic battle between two of the best teams in the league. The Bulls, led by Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen, and Horace Grant, put up a tough fight against the Lakers, led by Magic Johnson, James Worthy, and Sam Perkins. After a hard-fought six games, the Bulls emerged victorious, clinching the championship with a 108-101 win in game six. Jordan was named the Finals MVP, and the Bulls began their dynasty of six championships in eight years.
The 1991 World Series was a classic matchup between the Minnesota Twins and the Atlanta Braves. The Twins, led by their ace pitcher Jack Morris, had won the American League West Division with 95 wins, while the Braves had won the National League West Division with 94 wins. The series went to seven games, with the Twins taking the championship in a thrilling 10-inning 1-0 victory in the seventh game. Morris pitched 10 shutout innings in the deciding game, and Gene Larkin's RBI single in the 10th inning gave the Twins the championship. The series featured numerous memorable moments, including Kirby Puckett's game-tying home run in the 11th inning of Game 6, and the Twins' dramatic comeback from a 3-2 series deficit to win the championship.
The 1991 Super Bowl was a classic matchup between the New York Giants and the Buffalo Bills. The Giants, led by quarterback Jeff Hostetler, managed to pull off a 20-19 win in a nail-biting finish. The game was a back-and-forth affair, with the Giants taking a 12-10 lead into halftime. The Bills came back in the second half to take a 19-12 lead late in the fourth quarter. However, the Giants managed to rally, with Hostetler throwing a touchdown pass to Stephen Baker with just seconds remaining to give the Giants the win. It was a thrilling end to an exciting game, and the Giants were crowned Super Bowl champions.
The 1991 Stanley Cup Championship series between the Pittsburgh Penguins and the Minnesota North Stars was a rematch of the previous year's finals, which the Penguins had won. The Penguins again emerged victorious, winning the series in six games. The Penguins were led by Mario Lemieux, who scored a total of 34 points in the series, and the defense of Paul Coffey, who had 12 points in the series. The Penguins also had strong goaltending from Tom Barrasso, who won the Conn Smythe Trophy as the MVP of the playoffs. The North Stars were led by Brian Bellows, who had 11 points in the series, and the goaltending of Jon Casey, who was the runner-up for the Conn Smythe Trophy. The Penguins were able to take control of the series in the third and fourth games, winning both in overtime. The Penguins won the series in Game 6 at the Met Center in Bloomington, Minnesota, becoming the first team to win back-to-back Stanley Cup championships since the New York Islanders in 1982 and 1983.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |