1965 Sports Championships

The year 1965 consisted of Sports Championship winners Boston Celtics (NBA), Los Angeles Dodgers (MLB), Montreal Canadiens (NHL)
Sport Winner Loser
NBABoston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
MLBLos Angeles DodgersMinnesota Twins
NHLMontreal CanadiensChicago Blackhawks


The 1965 NBA Championship Final Series between the Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers was a classic. The series went to seven games, with the Celtics winning the decisive game by a score of 95-93. The series was highlighted by great performances from both teams, with the Celtics' Bill Russell and the Lakers' Jerry West both averaging over 30 points per game. The Celtics ultimately won the series due to their superior defense, which held the Lakers to just 93 points in the deciding game. The series was a classic example of two great teams going head to head in a battle for the championship.
The 1965 World Series was a best-of-seven series between the Los Angeles Dodgers and the Minnesota Twins. The Dodgers had won the National League pennant for the fourth consecutive year, while the Twins had won the American League pennant for the first time since 1933. The Dodgers won the series in seven games, with Sandy Koufax winning two games and being named the MVP of the series. The Twins had a chance to win the series in the seventh game, but a ninth-inning home run by the Dodgers' Jim Lefebvre sealed the victory for Los Angeles. The Dodgers had a total of 17 hits, nine walks, and five runs in the decisive game, while the Twins managed only two runs. This was the first time the Dodgers had won the World Series since 1955.
The 1965 Stanley Cup Final was contested by the Montreal Canadiens and the Chicago Blackhawks. The Canadiens had won the Stanley Cup the previous season and were looking to become the first team since the 1950s to win back-to-back championships. The series went to a full seven games, with the Canadiens winning the final game in overtime to take the series 4–3. Montreal's Jean Beliveau scored the series-winning goal in overtime of Game 7. The Canadiens had a balanced attack throughout the series, with seven different players scoring game-winning goals. Goaltender Gump Worsley was also instrumental in the Canadiens' victory, allowing just 15 goals in the seven games. The Canadiens would go on to win four more Stanley Cups in the next five years, cementing their place as one of the greatest dynasties in NHL history.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |