1988 Sports Championships

The year 1988 consisted of Sports Championship winners Edmonton Oilers (NHL), Los Angeles Dodgers (MLB), Los Angeles Lakers (NBA), Washington Redskins (NFL)
Sport Winner Loser
NHLEdmonton OilersBoston Bruins
MLBLos Angeles DodgersOakland Athletics
NBALos Angeles LakersDetroit Pistons
NFLWashington RedskinsDenver Broncos


The 1988 Stanley Cup Finals between the Edmonton Oilers and Boston Bruins was a thrilling series that lasted five games. The Oilers, led by Mark Messier, Grant Fuhr and Wayne Gretzky, were looking to win their fourth Stanley Cup in five years. The Bruins, led by Ray Bourque and Cam Neely, were looking to end a 29-year drought and bring the Cup back to Boston. After the Oilers took a 3-1 series lead, the Bruins managed to force a decisive Game 5 in Edmonton. In the end, the Oilers were victorious, winning the series 4-1. Gretzky was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the most valuable player of the playoffs.
The 1988 World Series featured the Los Angeles Dodgers and the Oakland Athletics. The Athletics won the series in five games, making them the first team since the 1976 Cincinnati Reds to win the World Series after losing the first two games. The Athletics were led by their dominant pitching staff, which included Dave Stewart, Mike Moore, and Bob Welch. The Dodgers, on the other hand, were led by their powerful offense, which featured Kirk Gibson, Mike Scioscia, and Mike Marshall. In the decisive Game 5, the Athletics' Dave Stewart pitched a complete game shutout, leading the Athletics to a 5-2 victory and their fourth World Series title. The 1988 World Series was a classic matchup between two of the most successful teams of the 1980s.
The 1988 NBA Championship Final Series featured the Los Angeles Lakers and the Detroit Pistons. The series was very close, with the Lakers taking the first two games at home, and the Pistons taking the next two games at home. The fifth game was also close, but the Lakers pulled away in the fourth quarter to take the win and the series. The Lakers were led by their dynamic duo of Magic Johnson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who combined for 44 points and 24 rebounds in the deciding game. The Pistons were led by Isiah Thomas, who scored 28 points in the final game. Ultimately, the Lakers won the series 4-3, and were crowned the 1988 NBA Champions.
The 1988 NFL Super Bowl was played between the Washington Redskins and the Denver Broncos. The Redskins, led by quarterback Doug Williams, dominated the Broncos and won the game by a score of 42-10. Williams was named the MVP of the game, throwing for a Super Bowl record of 340 yards and four touchdowns. The Redskins defense also had an impressive performance, holding the Broncos to just 10 points and forcing four turnovers. The Redskins dominated the game in all facets, outgaining the Broncos in total yards 541-257 and winning the time of possession battle by nearly 10 minutes. The Redskins' victory marked the fourth Super Bowl title in franchise history and the first since the 1982 season.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |