1982 Sports Championships

The year 1982 consisted of Sports Championship winners Los Angeles Lakers (NBA), New York Islanders (NHL), San Francisco 49ers (NFL), St Louis Cardinals (MLB)
Sport Winner Loser
NBALos Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ers
NHLNew York IslandersVancouver Canucks
NFLSan Francisco 49ersCincinnati Bengals
MLBSt Louis CardinalsMilwaukee Brewers


The 1982 NBA championship final series between the Los Angeles Lakers and Philadelphia 76ers was a classic showdown between two of the league's top teams. The Lakers, led by Magic Johnson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, were the defending champions and had the best regular-season record in the league. The 76ers, led by Julius Erving and Moses Malone, had the second-best record in the league and were looking to avenge their loss in the 1981 finals. The series was a back-and-forth affair, with the Lakers eventually prevailing in six games. Magic Johnson was named the Finals MVP, averaging 18.6 points, 13.2 rebounds, and 8.7 assists per game. The Lakers' victory marked the franchise's ninth NBA championship.
The 1982 Stanley Cup Final was a best-of-seven series between the New York Islanders and the Vancouver Canucks. The Islanders were looking to become the first team in NHL history to win three consecutive Stanley Cups, while the Canucks were making their first Stanley Cup Final appearance in franchise history. The Islanders won the first three games of the series and never looked back, winning the series 4-0 to become the first team in NHL history to win three consecutive Stanley Cups. The Islanders were led by their star players, Mike Bossy, Bryan Trottier, and Denis Potvin, who combined for 20 points in the series. The Canucks, despite being outmatched, put up a good fight and were able to hold the Islanders to only four goals in the final three games. The Islanders would go on to win eight consecutive division titles and four Stanley Cups in the 1980s, cementing their legacy as one of the greatest dynasties in NHL history.
The San Francisco 49ers and Cincinnati Bengals faced off in the 1982 Super Bowl, with the 49ers emerging victorious. The game was a back-and-forth affair, with the 49ers taking the lead in the first quarter and the Bengals tying it up in the second. The 49ers then took a 28-16 lead in the third quarter, but the Bengals came back to tie the game at 28-28 with just over three minutes remaining. However, the 49ers were able to score the winning touchdown with just 34 seconds left in the game, securing the victory and their first Super Bowl championship. Joe Montana was named the game's MVP, throwing for a total of 157 yards and two touchdowns.
The 1982 MLB World Series between the St Louis Cardinals and Milwaukee Brewers was an exciting series that went the full seven games. The Cardinals, led by manager Whitey Herzog and their star players Ozzie Smith, Darrell Porter, and Keith Hernandez, won the first two games of the series to take an early lead. The Brewers, however, responded with two wins of their own to even the series at 2-2. The Cardinals then won the next two games, putting them one win away from the championship. The Brewers refused to give up, winning games six and seven to force a game seven. In the end, the Cardinals were able to pull out the victory in game seven, winning the series 4-3 and claiming the 1982 World Series championship.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |