1995 Sports Championships

The year 1995 consisted of Sports Championship winners Atlanta Braves (MLB), Houston Rockets (NBA), New Jersey Devils (NHL), San Francisco 49ers (NFL)
Sport Winner Loser
MLBAtlanta BravesCleveland Indians
NBAHouston RocketsOrlando Magic
NHLNew Jersey DevilsDetroit Red Wings
NFLSan Francisco 49ersSan Diego Chargers


The 1995 World Series featured the Atlanta Braves and the Cleveland Indians. The Braves, led by manager Bobby Cox, had won the National League West division title and the National League Championship Series. The Indians, managed by Mike Hargrove, had won the American League Central division title and the American League Championship Series. The Braves won the series in six games, becoming the first team from the NL to win a World Series since 1982. The Braves' pitching staff, led by Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, and John Smoltz, was dominant throughout the series, allowing only three runs in four of the six games. The Braves also received strong offensive contributions from David Justice, Fred McGriff, and Chipper Jones. The Indians were led by their strong offensive core of Albert Belle, Manny Ramirez, Jim Thome, and Carlos Baerga. Despite their strong offense, the Indians were unable to overcome the Braves' pitching staff and the Braves won the series in six games.
The 1995 NBA championship final series between the Houston Rockets and the Orlando Magic was a thrilling seven-game series that saw the Rockets come out on top with a 4-2 series victory. The Rockets were led by the dynamic duo of Hakeem Olajuwon and Clyde Drexler, who combined to average over 50 points per game in the series. The Magic were led by the trio of Shaquille O'Neal, Anfernee Hardaway, and Horace Grant, who put up a valiant effort in the series. In the end, the Rockets' experience and veteran leadership proved to be too much for the Magic, as they were able to secure their second NBA championship in franchise history.
The 1995 Stanley Cup Final between the New Jersey Devils and the Detroit Red Wings was a hard-fought series that featured seven games. The Devils won the first two games in New Jersey, but the Red Wings responded by winning the next two in Detroit. The Devils then won game five in New Jersey, but the Red Wings won game six in Detroit to force a decisive game seven. In the end, the Devils were able to prevail in game seven in New Jersey, winning the Stanley Cup for the first time in franchise history. The Devils were led by goaltender Martin Brodeur, who was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the MVP of the playoffs. The Red Wings were led by Steve Yzerman, who had a stellar performance in the series, scoring five goals and eight assists. The 1995 Stanley Cup Final was a thrilling series that showcased the best of both teams and was ultimately won by the New Jersey Devils.
The 1995 Super Bowl was an exciting match up between the San Francisco 49ers and the San Diego Chargers. The 49ers were the defending Super Bowl champions and had the league's best offense, while the Chargers had the league's best defense. In the end, the 49ers' offense proved too much for the Chargers, as Steve Young threw for a Super Bowl-record six touchdowns and running back Ricky Watters rushed for two more in a 49-26 victory. Young was named MVP of the game, and the 49ers went on to become the first team to win five Super Bowls. The Chargers, meanwhile, failed to reach the Super Bowl again until 2019.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |