1961 Sports Championships

The year 1961 consisted of Sports Championship winners Boston Celtics (NBA), Chicago Blackhawks (NHL), New York Yankees (MLB)
Sport Winner Loser
NBABoston CelticsSt Louis Hawks
NHLChicago BlackhawksDetroit Red Wings
MLBNew York YankeesCincinnati Reds


The 1961 NBA championship final series was an exciting matchup between the Boston Celtics and St Louis Hawks. The Celtics, led by Bill Russell, Bob Cousy, and Tom Heinsohn, were the favorites, but the Hawks, led by Bob Petit, Cliff Hagan, and Clyde Lovellette, put up a good fight. The Celtics won the series 4-1, with each game being decided by 5 points or less. The decisive game 5 was won by the Celtics 110-109, with Bill Russell scoring the winning basket with seconds remaining. The Celtics won their fourth consecutive championship, cementing their place in NBA history.
The 1961 Stanley Cup Finals saw the Chicago Blackhawks face off against the Detroit Red Wings. This was the first time in 18 years that the two teams had met in the Finals. The series went the full seven games, with the Blackhawks coming out on top. The Blackhawks won the first two games in Chicago, but the Red Wings came back to win the next two in Detroit. The fifth game was won by the Blackhawks in overtime, and the sixth game was won by the Red Wings in overtime. The seventh and deciding game was won by the Blackhawks in Chicago, with Bobby Hull scoring the winning goal. The Blackhawks won the series 4–3, and the Stanley Cup for the first time in 23 years.
The 1961 World Series was an exciting matchup between the New York Yankees and Cincinnati Reds. The Yankees won the series in five games, with Whitey Ford taking home the MVP award. The Yankees had a strong lineup, including Mickey Mantle, Roger Maris, and Yogi Berra, while the Reds were led by Frank Robinson and Vada Pinson. The Yankees took the first two games in Cincinnati, but the Reds fought back and won the third game in New York. The Yankees then won the fourth and fifth games to take the series. The series was highlighted by Mantle's two home runs in Game 3, and Ford's complete game shutout in Game 5. The Yankees won their 19th World Series title and their first since 1958.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |