1958 Sports Championships

The year 1958 consisted of Sports Championship winners Montreal Canadiens (NHL), New York Yankees (MLB), St Louis Hawks (NBA)
Sport Winner Loser
NHLMontreal CanadiensBoston Bruins
MLBNew York YankeesMilwaukee Braves
NBASt Louis HawksBoston Celtics


The 1958 Stanley Cup Finals was a best-of-seven series between the Montreal Canadiens and the Boston Bruins. The Canadiens won the series 4–2 to win their fourth consecutive Stanley Cup, and their tenth overall. The Canadiens were led by captain Jean Beliveau and goaltender Jacques Plante, while the Bruins were led by center Don McKenney and goaltender Don Simmons. The series began in Boston, where the Bruins won the first two games. However, the Canadiens responded by winning the next three games, with all three games being decided by one goal. The Canadiens took the series in Game 6, with a 4–1 victory, and Jean Beliveau scoring the Cup-winning goal. The 1958 Stanley Cup Finals was a hard-fought series between two of the greatest teams in NHL history, and the Canadiens' victory solidified their place as one of the greatest dynasties in hockey history.
The 1958 World Series featured the defending champion New York Yankees and the Milwaukee Braves. The Yankees had won the previous two World Series and were looking to make it three in a row. The Braves, on the other hand, were looking to win their first title since moving to Milwaukee in 1953. The series went the full seven games, with the Yankees ultimately prevailing 4-3. Yankees pitcher Bob Turley was the hero of the series, winning two games and earning the MVP award. The Yankees scored a total of 25 runs in the series, while the Braves managed just 18. The Yankees won the first two games at home, but the Braves fought back to even the series at three games apiece. In the decisive seventh game, the Yankees would prevail 6-2 behind a strong performance from Turley. The Yankees would go on to win five more World Series titles in the following decade.
The 1958 NBA championship final series was between the St Louis Hawks and the Boston Celtics. It was a best-of-seven series, and the Celtics won the series 4-2. The series was very close, with the Hawks taking the first two games and the Celtics winning the next four. The Celtics were led by Bill Russell, who was a dominant force in the paint, averaging 24 points and 25 rebounds per game. The Hawks were led by Bob Pettit, who averaged 25 points and 16 rebounds per game. The Celtics were able to outlast the Hawks in the end, and they won their fourth championship in five years.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |