1941 Sports Championships

The year 1941 consisted of Sports Championship winners Boston Bruins (NHL), New York Yankees (MLB)
Sport Winner Loser
NHLBoston BruinsDetroit Red Wings
MLBNew York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers


The 1941 Stanley Cup Finals pitted the Boston Bruins against the Detroit Red Wings. The Bruins had won the Stanley Cup in 1939, while the Red Wings had won it in 1936 and 1937. The series was a best-of-seven format, and the Bruins ended up winning the series 4-0, with two of the wins coming in overtime. The Bruins were led by legendary goaltender Frank Brimsek, who posted a shutout in the deciding game. The Bruins were also led by the "Kraut Line" of Milt Schmidt, Bobby Bauer and Woody Dumart, who combined for 13 points in the series. The Red Wings were led by Syd Howe and Mud Bruneteau, who both scored four points in the series. The Bruins' dominance in this series earned them their second Stanley Cup championship in three years.
The 1941 World Series featured a classic matchup between two of the most storied franchises in Major League Baseball, the New York Yankees and the Brooklyn Dodgers. The Yankees had won the American League pennant with a 101-53 record, while the Dodgers had earned the National League pennant with a 100-54 record. The series went the full seven games, with the Yankees emerging victorious. The Yankees won the first two games at Yankee Stadium, and then the teams split the next four games in Brooklyn. The Yankees won the decisive seventh game at Yankee Stadium 4-3, with Joe DiMaggio hitting a solo home run in the bottom of the eighth inning to break a 3-3 tie. The Yankees had their fourth consecutive World Series title, and the first of four straight.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |