1968 Sports Championships

The year 1968 consisted of Sports Championship winners Boston Celtics (NBA), Detroit Tigers (MLB), Green Bay Packers (NFL), Montreal Canadiens (NHL)
Sport Winner Loser
NBABoston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
MLBDetroit TigersSt Louis Cardinals
NFLGreen Bay PackersOakland Raiders
NHLMontreal CanadiensSt Louis Blues


The 1968 NBA championship final series between the Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers was a classic matchup between two of the greatest teams in NBA history. The Celtics, led by Bill Russell, John Havlicek, and Sam Jones, won the series in seven games, with the deciding game going to overtime. The Celtics won the series by a score of 95-93, with Havlicek scoring the game-winning basket. The series was marked by intense physical play from both teams, and the Lakers, led by Jerry West and Elgin Baylor, put up a valiant effort but ultimately fell short in the end. The Celtics’ victory marked their tenth NBA championship in twelve years, cementing their status as one of the greatest dynasties in basketball history.
The 1968 World Series was a classic matchup between the Detroit Tigers and the St. Louis Cardinals. The Tigers had won the American League pennant by 12 games, while the Cardinals had won the National League pennant by 10 games. The Tigers were led by their powerful offense, which featured sluggers Al Kaline, Willie Horton, and Norm Cash. The Cardinals were led by their stellar pitching staff, which included Bob Gibson, Steve Carlton, and Nelson Briles. The Tigers won the series in seven games, with Mickey Lolich winning three games for Detroit, including the decisive seventh game. The series is remembered for its thrilling games, with the Tigers winning the final game in the bottom of the ninth inning on a walk-off single by Jim Northrup.
The 1968 NFL Super Bowl was a thrilling matchup between the Green Bay Packers and the Oakland Raiders. The Packers were led by their legendary quarterback, Bart Starr, who had led the team to their previous two Super Bowl victories. The Raiders were led by their young quarterback, Daryle Lamonica, who had just led the team to their first ever AFL championship. After a back-and-forth game, the Packers were able to pull away in the fourth quarter and win 33-14. Starr was named the MVP of the game, throwing for two touchdowns and running for another. The Packers' victory cemented their status as one of the greatest teams of all time and made Starr one of the most iconic quarterbacks in NFL history.
The 1968 Stanley Cup Final was contested by the Montreal Canadiens and the St. Louis Blues. This was the first Stanley Cup Final to be contested by two expansion teams. The series went to a full seven games, with the Canadiens winning the series 4–3. The Canadiens won the first two games in Montreal, then the Blues won the next two in St. Louis. The Canadiens then won the fifth game in Montreal, and the Blues won the sixth game in St. Louis to force a seventh and deciding game. The Canadiens won the seventh game in Montreal to win the Stanley Cup. Canadiens' goaltender Gump Worsley was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the most valuable player during the playoffs.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |