1924 Sports Championships

The year 1924 consisted of Sports Championship winners Montreal Canadiens (NHL), Washington Senators (MLB)
Sport Winner Loser
NHLMontreal CanadiensCalgary Tigers
MLBWashington SenatorsNew York Giants


The 1924 Stanley Cup Final was contested by the National Hockey League (NHL) champion Montreal Canadiens and the Western Canada Hockey League (WCHL) champion Calgary Tigers. The Canadiens won the best-of-five series 3–0 to win their first Stanley Cup. The series opened in Montreal, where the Canadiens won the first two games by scores of 6–2 and 5–1. The series shifted to Calgary, where the Canadiens won the third and deciding game by a score of 2–1. Canadiens goaltender George Hainsworth was the star of the series, allowing only three goals in the three games. The Canadiens' Howie Morenz scored five goals in the series, and Aurel Joliat added two. The Canadiens' win marked the first time a team from the NHL had won the Stanley Cup, and the first time a team from the WCHL had lost the Cup.
The 1924 World Series was a matchup between the Washington Senators and the New York Giants. The Senators won the series in seven games, with a 4-3 victory in Game 7. The Giants had won the first three games of the series, but the Senators rallied back, winning the next three games. In Game 7, the Senators scored three runs in the bottom of the eighth inning to take the lead, and the Giants couldn't respond. Washington pitcher Walter Johnson was the hero of the series, winning two games and saving two others. He was also named the series MVP. The Senators' victory marked the only time in their history that they won the World Series. It was the first World Series victory for the city of Washington, D.C.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |