1986 Sports Championships

The year 1986 consisted of Sports Championship winners Boston Celtics (NBA), Chicago Bears (NFL), Montreal Canadiens (NHL), New York Mets (MLB)
Sport Winner Loser
NBABoston CelticsHouston Rockets
NFLChicago BearsNew England Patriots
NHLMontreal CanadiensCalgary Flames
MLBNew York MetsBoston Red Sox


The 1986 NBA championship final series between the Boston Celtics and Houston Rockets was a classic battle between two of the greatest teams in NBA history. The Celtics, led by the legendary Larry Bird, had won the championship the previous season and were looking to repeat. The Rockets, on the other hand, were led by Hakeem Olajuwon and were looking to win their first title in franchise history. After a hard-fought series, the Celtics eventually emerged victorious, winning the series 4-2. The Celtics were led by Bird, who averaged 27.4 points, 9.7 rebounds and 9.5 assists per game in the series. The Rockets, meanwhile, were led by Olajuwon, who averaged 27.3 points and 11.5 rebounds per game. The Celtics went on to win their 16th championship in franchise history, while the Rockets would have to wait another two years for their first.
The 1986 Super Bowl was a matchup between the Chicago Bears, who had the best regular season record, and the New England Patriots, who had a wild card spot. The Bears dominated the game from the start, scoring the first touchdown of the game and never looking back. Their defense was extraordinary, holding the Patriots to only 7 points and forcing 5 turnovers. The Bears offense was also impressive, scoring a total of 46 points and rushing for a Super Bowl record of 275 yards. The Bears won the game by a score of 46-10, giving them their first Super Bowl victory in franchise history.
The 1986 Stanley Cup Finals was a thrilling series between the Montreal Canadiens and the Calgary Flames. The Canadiens were the reigning Stanley Cup champions, having won the previous year's championship. The Flames, on the other hand, were making their first Stanley Cup Finals appearance in their history. The series went to six games, with the Canadiens coming out on top in the end. The Canadiens' Guy Carbonneau scored the series-winning goal in Game 6, and goaltender Patrick Roy was named the Conn Smythe Trophy winner for his stellar play throughout the series. The Canadiens were able to defend their title, and the Flames were left to wonder what could have been.
The 1986 MLB World Series was an epic battle between the New York Mets and the Boston Red Sox. The Mets had won the National League East division title with a record of 108-54. The Red Sox had won the American League East division title with a record of 95-66. The Mets won the series 4-3, with the deciding Game 7 being a nail-biter. The Mets were down 5-3 in the 10th inning, and managed to score 3 runs to win the game 6-5. The Mets' star pitcher, Dwight Gooden, was named the MVP of the series. The Mets had won their second World Series title in franchise history, and their first since 1969. The Red Sox had come close, but ultimately failed to win their first World Series since 1918.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |