1955 Sports Championships

The year 1955 consisted of Sports Championship winners Brooklyn Dodgers (MLB), Detroit Red Wings (NHL), Syracuse Nationals (NBA)
Sport Winner Loser
MLBBrooklyn DodgersNew York Yankees
NHLDetroit Red WingsMontreal Canadiens
NBASyracuse NationalsFort Wayne Pistons


The 1955 World Series between the Brooklyn Dodgers and New York Yankees was a memorable one. It was the first World Series to be televised nationally and was a thrilling seven-game series. The Dodgers were led by Jackie Robinson, Roy Campanella, and Duke Snider, while the Yankees were led by Yogi Berra, Mickey Mantle, and Whitey Ford. The series went back and forth until the seventh game, which the Yankees won 2-0. It was the first time the Yankees had won the World Series since 1949, and it was the Dodgers' last World Series appearance in Brooklyn. The series was a classic and a great example of the rivalry between the two teams.
The 1955 Stanley Cup Finals featured the Detroit Red Wings and the Montreal Canadiens. The series went the full seven games, with the Red Wings ultimately emerging victorious. The Red Wings won the first two games, but the Canadiens rallied back with wins in games three and four. The Red Wings then won the next two games to capture the championship. The deciding game was a close one, with the Red Wings prevailing 3-1. The Red Wings were led by Gordie Howe, who scored two goals in the final game. The series was an exciting one, and it was the first Stanley Cup championship for the Red Wings in 17 years.
The 1955 NBA championship final series between Syracuse Nationals and Fort Wayne Pistons was a best-of-seven series that went the full seven games. The Syracuse Nationals were the defending champions while the Fort Wayne Pistons were making their first appearance in the finals. The series was back and forth, with neither team able to gain a decisive advantage. In the end, the Syracuse Nationals came out on top, winning the series 4-3. The series was marked by close games, with four of the seven games decided by four points or less. The Syracuse Nationals were led by Hall of Famers Dolph Schayes and George Yardley, who combined for over 40 points per game in the series. The Fort Wayne Pistons were led by Hall of Famers George Yardley and Andy Phillip, who also combined for over 40 points per game. The 1955 NBA championship was the first title for the Syracuse Nationals, and the first time a team from the Eastern Division had won the championship.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |