1918 Sports Championships

The year 1918 consisted of Sports Championship winners Boston Red Sox (MLB), Toronto Arenas (NHL)
Sport Winner Loser
MLBBoston Red SoxChicago Cubs
NHLToronto ArenasVancouver Millionaires


The 1918 World Series featured the Boston Red Sox and the Chicago Cubs. The Red Sox, led by pitcher Carl Mays and outfielder Duffy Lewis, won the series four games to two, capturing their fourth championship in the process. Game 1 was won by the Cubs, 5-4 in 10 innings, but the Red Sox won the next four games, including a 1-0 shutout by Mays in Game 5. The Cubs managed to win Game 6, 3-1, but the Red Sox won the deciding Game 7, 2-1, to win the series. The 1918 World Series was the first to be played at Comiskey Park in Chicago. It was also the last of the Red Sox's five World Series titles before their 86-year championship drought.
The 1918 Stanley Cup championship series was between the Toronto Arenas and the Vancouver Millionaires. The series was won by the Toronto Arenas in a best of five game series, with a 3-2 record. The Arenas won the first two games of the series by scores of 4-3 and 8-1, respectively. The Millionaires managed to win the third game, but the Arenas held them off in the fourth game to win the series. This marked the first Stanley Cup championship for Toronto, and the first of 11 championships the franchise would win during its tenure in the NHL.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |