1926 Sports Championships

The year 1926 consisted of Sports Championship winners Montreal Maroons (NHL), St Louis Cardinals (MLB)
Sport Winner Loser
NHLMontreal MaroonsVictoria Cougars
MLBSt Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees


The 1926 Stanley Cup Final was a best-of-five series between the Montreal Maroons and the Victoria Cougars. The Maroons won the series 3–0, becoming the first team from the newly formed NHL to win the Stanley Cup. The Maroons were led by the dynamic duo of Nels Stewart and Hooley Smith, who combined for 10 goals in the series. The Cougars, who were a Pacific Coast Hockey Association team, put up a valiant effort but were ultimately overmatched by the Maroons. They were unable to contain the Maroons' offense, as Montreal outscored them 15–2 in the series. The Maroons' victory marked the beginning of a new era in the NHL, as they would go on to win two more Stanley Cups in the 1930s.
The 1926 MLB World Series was a best-of-seven series between the St Louis Cardinals and the New York Yankees. The Yankees, managed by Miller Huggins, were the defending champions and had the best regular season record in the American League. The Cardinals, managed by Rogers Hornsby, had the best record in the National League. The series went the full seven games, with the Yankees winning the final game 4-2 in the tenth inning. The Yankees' Babe Ruth hit three home runs during the series, a record at the time. The Cardinals' Grover Cleveland Alexander was the star pitcher, winning Games 2 and 6 and saving Game 7 with a scoreless inning in relief. The Yankees won the series 4-2, becoming the first team to win three consecutive World Series titles.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |