1974 Sports Championships

The year 1974 consisted of Sports Championship winners Boston Celtics (NBA), Miami Dolphins (NFL), Oakland Athletics (MLB), Philadelphia Flyers (NHL)
Sport Winner Loser
NBABoston CelticsMilwaukee Bucks
NFLMiami DolphinsMinnesota Vikings
MLBOakland AthleticsLos Angeles Dodgers
NHLPhiladelphia FlyersBoston Bruins


The 1974 NBA championship final series between the Boston Celtics and the Milwaukee Bucks was a hard-fought battle. The Celtics, led by John Havlicek and Dave Cowens, won the series in seven games, becoming the first team to win the championship after being down three games to two. The Bucks were led by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Oscar Robertson, and the series was a back-and-forth affair, with the teams trading wins throughout. In the end, the Celtics' experience and determination proved to be the difference, as they were able to close out the series in the seventh game. The Celtics won the title, capping off a remarkable season and cementing their place as one of the greatest teams in NBA history.
The 1974 NFL Super Bowl was an exciting matchup between the Miami Dolphins and the Minnesota Vikings. The Dolphins, who had won the previous two Super Bowls, were looking to make history by becoming the first team to win three consecutive championships. The Vikings, on the other hand, were looking to cap off their season with a win and become the first team to win a Super Bowl in their home state. The game was close throughout, with the Dolphins taking a 16-6 lead into the fourth quarter. However, the Vikings rallied back and eventually won the game by a score of 24-7. It was a thrilling game that saw the Vikings become the first team to win a Super Bowl in their home state and the Dolphins fall just short of making history.
The 1974 World Series was a classic showdown between two of the most successful teams of the era, the Oakland Athletics and the Los Angeles Dodgers. The Athletics had won three consecutive World Series titles from 1972-1974, while the Dodgers had won four National League pennants in the same time period. Oakland was led by future Hall of Famers Reggie Jackson and Catfish Hunter, while the Dodgers were led by future Hall of Famers Steve Garvey and Don Sutton. The series went the full seven games, with the Athletics winning in the bottom of the ninth inning of game seven on a walk-off home run by Jackson. It was a classic series that featured some of the greatest players of the era, and it was a fitting end to the Athletics’ dynasty.
The 1974 Stanley Cup Finals between the Philadelphia Flyers and Boston Bruins was a hard fought series. The Flyers had come off of a strong regular season, finishing with the best record in the league, while the Bruins had finished second in their division. The series went the full seven games, with the Flyers coming out on top. Game six was particularly memorable, as the Flyers scored two goals in the third period to come from behind and win the game 3-2. The Flyers then went on to win game seven, 1-0, to become the first expansion team to win the Stanley Cup. The series was widely considered to be one of the greatest in NHL history.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |