Calgary Tigers NHL Championship Record

How many NHL Championships have the Calgary Tigers won?

The Calgary Tigers have appeared in 1 NHL championships. They have won 0 times and lost 1 times.
Year Winner Loser
1924 Montreal Canadiens Calgary Tigers
The Calgary Tigers were a professional ice hockey team based in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. They were a member of the Western Canada Hockey League (WCHL) and played from 1920 to 1927. The team was founded in 1918 as the Calgary Tigers Hockey Club and later joined the WCHL in 1921.

During their time in the league, the Calgary Tigers were a competitive and successful team. They had a strong rivalry with the Edmonton Eskimos (not related to the CFL team) and the Victoria Cougars. In the 1923-1924 season, the Tigers won the Western Canada Hockey League championship and later faced the Montreal Canadiens in the Stanley Cup Finals. Despite their efforts, they were not able to secure the championship.

Unfortunately, the team's success was short-lived. In 1927, financial difficulties led to the sale of the Calgary Tigers to a group of investors from the United States. The new ownership relocated the team to the United States and renamed them the "Chicago Black Hawks" (later spelled as "Chicago Blackhawks"). The move was primarily to take advantage of the larger market in Chicago and to expand the popularity of ice hockey in the U.S.

Although the Calgary Tigers are no longer active in the NHL, their legacy remains as part of the city's hockey history. The team's departure paved the way for the eventual arrival of the Calgary Flames in 1972, who have since become an integral part of the city's sports culture. The Calgary Tigers are remembered for their contributions to ice hockey in Western Canada and their brief but notable presence in the NHL's early years.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |