Victoria Cougars NHL Championship Record

How many NHL Championships have the Victoria Cougars won?

The Victoria Cougars have appeared in 2 NHL championships. They have won 1 times and lost 1 times.
Victoria Cougars are located in Victoria. They are currently ranked #8 for most NHL Championships with 1 wins..
Year Winner Loser
1926 Montreal Maroons Victoria Cougars
1925 Victoria Cougars Montreal Canadiens
The Victoria Cougars were a professional ice hockey team based in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. They were a member of the Western Canada Hockey League (WCHL) and later the Western Hockey League (WHL) from 1911 to 1926. The team was known for its competitive and successful play during its existence, with several notable playoff runs and championships.

The Victoria Cougars achieved their greatest success during the 1924-1925 season when they won the WCHL championship and then went on to capture the Stanley Cup, defeating the Montreal Canadiens in a thrilling series. This victory marked the first time a non-NHL team won the prestigious trophy. The following season, the team joined the newly formed NHL, becoming the first franchise on the West Coast to do so.

Despite their early triumphs, the Victoria Cougars struggled financially in the NHL. They faced challenges in attracting fans and generating revenue, particularly as a small-market team. After just one season in the NHL, the franchise was sold to new ownership and relocated to Detroit, Michigan, where they became the Detroit Cougars (now the Detroit Red Wings). The move was motivated by the promise of a larger market and potential for greater profitability.

Though the Victoria Cougars may no longer exist, their legacy lives on through their Stanley Cup victory and their contribution to the growth of ice hockey on the West Coast of Canada. Their brief stint in the NHL helped pave the way for future expansion and the development of hockey in non-traditional markets.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |