Washington Bullets NBA Championship Record

How many NBA Championships have the Washington Bullets won?

The Washington Bullets have appeared in 3 NBA championships. They have won 1 times and lost 2 times.
Washington Bullets are located in Washington. They are currently ranked #7 for most NBA Championships with 1 wins..
Year Winner Loser
1979 Seattle SuperSonics Washington Bullets
1978 Washington Bullets Seattle SuperSonics
1975 Golden State Warriors Washington Bullets
The Washington Bullets were a professional basketball team that played in the National Basketball Association (NBA) from 1963 to 1997. The franchise was initially based in Chicago and known as the Chicago Zephyrs before moving to Baltimore, Maryland, in 1963 and changing their name to the Baltimore Bullets. They then moved to Washington, D.C., in 1973 and became the Washington Bullets. The team had its share of successes during its time in the league, but they faced challenges both on and off the court.

During their time as the Washington Bullets, the team made several playoff appearances and even reached the NBA Finals on a few occasions, but they were unable to secure a championship title. Despite having talented players and a loyal fan base, the Bullets faced financial difficulties, and the attendance at their home games started to decline. In 1995, the team was renamed the Washington Wizards in an effort to rebrand and distance themselves from any association with gun violence, as the term "bullets" was deemed inappropriate.

The Washington Wizards continue to play in the NBA to this day, but the name change marked the end of the Washington Bullets era. The franchise's history is filled with memorable moments and players who left a lasting impact on the team's legacy. While the Bullets may no longer be around, they remain an important part of the NBA's history and the basketball culture in Washington, D.C.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |