Seattle Metropolitans NHL Championship Record

How many NHL Championships have the Seattle Metropolitans won?

The Seattle Metropolitans have appeared in 1 NHL championships. They have won 0 times and lost 1 times.
Year Winner Loser
1920 Ottawa Senators Seattle Metropolitans
The Seattle Metropolitans were a professional ice hockey team based in Seattle, Washington, and they were a part of the Pacific Coast Hockey Association (PCHA). The team was founded in 1915 and quickly became a prominent force in the league. In the 1916-1917 season, the Metropolitans achieved a significant milestone by becoming the first American team to win the Stanley Cup. This victory brought immense pride to the city of Seattle and further popularized ice hockey in the region.

The Metropolitans continued to be a competitive team in the PCHA, consistently vying for the Stanley Cup. However, their success was short-lived due to unforeseen circumstances. In 1919, the Metropolitans reached the Stanley Cup Finals for the second time. The series, however, was cut short due to a flu pandemic that affected players from both teams. As a result, the 1919 Stanley Cup Finals were canceled, and no champion was declared that year.

Despite their achievements, the Metropolitans faced financial challenges, and the league itself underwent restructuring. In 1924, the PCHA folded, and several teams, including the Metropolitans, were disbanded. The absence of the Metropolitans left a void in the Seattle hockey scene, and the city had to wait several decades before professional hockey returned with the arrival of the Seattle Totems in the Western Hockey League during the 1950s. Though the Seattle Metropolitans may no longer be around, their legacy as Stanley Cup champions and pioneers in American ice hockey will forever be remembered in the annals of the sport's history.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |