Syracuse Nationals NBA Championship Record

How many NBA Championships have the Syracuse Nationals won?

The Syracuse Nationals have appeared in 3 NBA championships. They have won 1 times and lost 2 times.
Syracuse Nationals are located in Syracuse. They are currently ranked #7 for most NBA Championships with 1 wins..
Year Winner Loser
1955 Syracuse Nationals Fort Wayne Pistons
1954 Minneapolis Lakers Syracuse Nationals
1950 Minneapolis Lakers Syracuse Nationals
The Syracuse Nationals were a professional basketball team that played in the National Basketball Association (NBA) from 1949 to 1963. The franchise was founded in 1946 as part of the National Basketball League (NBL) and was originally based in Buffalo, New York, under the name Buffalo Bisons. In 1949, the team moved to Syracuse, New York, and became the Syracuse Nationals.

During their time in Syracuse, the Nationals had some successful seasons and were known for their strong defensive play and tough competition. They made it to the NBA Finals multiple times but were unable to secure a championship title during their years in Syracuse.

In 1963, the franchise faced financial difficulties and was sold to a group of investors from Philadelphia. The team was then relocated to Philadelphia, where they became the Philadelphia 76ers. The move was aimed at finding a larger market and increasing the team's revenue potential.

Although the Syracuse Nationals are no longer around, their time in the NBA was marked by competitive play and the development of some talented players. Their legacy lives on in the history of the NBA, and their relocation to Philadelphia allowed them to find greater success and eventually win an NBA championship in 1967.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |