New York Knickerbockers NBA Championship Record

How many NBA Championships have the New York Knickerbockers won?

The New York Knickerbockers have appeared in 3 NBA championships. They have won 0 times and lost 3 times.
Year Winner Loser
1953 Minneapolis Lakers New York Knickerbockers
1952 Minneapolis Lakers New York Knickerbockers
1951 Rochester Royals New York Knickerbockers
The New York Knickerbockers, commonly referred to as the Knicks, are one of the oldest and most storied franchises in the history of the National Basketball Association (NBA). Founded in 1946, the team was one of the original members of the Basketball Association of America (BAA), which later became the NBA through a merger with the National Basketball League (NBL). The name "Knickerbockers" pays homage to the Dutch settlers who originally inhabited the New York area, and it has become an iconic representation of the team.

Throughout their history, the Knicks have had both successful and challenging periods. In the early years, they were a dominant force in the league, winning two championships. However, the team experienced a prolonged period of struggles in the late 2000s and 2010s, facing various issues such as mismanagement and inconsistent player performance. Despite the challenges, the Knicks have maintained a dedicated and passionate fan base, making Madison Square Garden, their home arena, one of the most famous basketball venues in the world.

While the Knicks have not won a championship in several decades, they remain an important and influential franchise in the NBA. As one of the league's flagship teams, the Knicks have played a significant role in popularizing professional basketball in the United States and beyond. Though the team is no longer a dominant force in the league, they continue to be a symbol of the sport's rich history and its enduring popularity in the city of New York.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |