San Jose Earthquakes MLS Championship Record

How many MLS Championships have the San Jose Earthquakes won?

The San Jose Earthquakes have appeared in 2 MLS championships. They have won 2 times and lost 0 times.
San Jose Earthquakes are located in San Jose. They are currently ranked #4 for most MLS Championships with 2 wins..
Year Winner Loser
2003 San Jose Earthquakes Chicago Fire
2001 San Jose Earthquakes LA Galaxy
The San Jose Earthquakes, a founding member of Major League Soccer (MLS), have a rich history that dates back to the league's inception in 1996. The team originally started as the San Jose Clash before rebranding to the Earthquakes in 1999. The name "Earthquakes" pays homage to the region's seismic activity, highlighting the team's strong connection to its local community.

Throughout their existence, the San Jose Earthquakes have had their fair share of successes and challenges. In their early years, the team quickly established itself as a formidable force, securing two MLS Cup championships and a Supporters' Shield, awarded to the team with the best regular-season record. The Earthquakes' success on the field garnered a passionate fan base that has remained loyal throughout the years.

However, like any franchise, the Earthquakes faced periods of transition and rebuilding. After the team relocated to Houston in 2006 to become the Houston Dynamo, San Jose soccer fans rallied to bring the Earthquakes back to the Bay Area. In 2008, their efforts were successful, and the team was reinstated in San Jose, much to the delight of their devoted supporters.

Since their return, the Earthquakes have continued to compete at a high level in MLS, consistently challenging for playoff berths. The team's commitment to developing young talent through its academy system has yielded promising prospects, ensuring a bright future for the franchise. With a dedicated fan base, a proud history, and a continued focus on growth and success, the San Jose Earthquakes remain an integral part of the MLS landscape.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |