New Jersey Nets NBA Championship Record

How many NBA Championships have the New Jersey Nets won?

The New Jersey Nets have appeared in 2 NBA championships. They have won 0 times and lost 2 times.
Year Winner Loser
2003 San Antonio Spurs New Jersey Nets
2002 Los Angeles Lakers New Jersey Nets
The New Jersey Nets were a professional basketball team that was a member of the National Basketball Association (NBA) from 1977 to 2012. The franchise originated as the New Jersey Americans in 1967, playing in the American Basketball Association (ABA). After one season, they changed their name to the New Jersey Nets and remained a part of the ABA until the merger with the NBA in 1976.

The team's tenure in New Jersey was marked by both highs and lows. In the early 2000s, the Nets experienced a period of success, making back-to-back NBA Finals appearances in 2002 and 2003. Led by a talented roster and effective coaching, they became a competitive force in the Eastern Conference. However, financial struggles and difficulties in securing a new arena led to the decision to relocate.

In 2012, the New Jersey Nets moved across the Hudson River to Brooklyn, New York, where they became the Brooklyn Nets. The relocation was an effort to tap into the lucrative market of New York City and establish a stronger fan base. The move also coincided with the opening of the Barclays Center, a state-of-the-art arena in Brooklyn. Since the move, the franchise has seen increased success and has been able to attract high-profile players, solidifying their place as a formidable team in the NBA.
Filter by: appearances, teams, years, wins, losses, states, cities, sports

View by sport: MLB | NHL | NBA | NFL | MLS |